There’s No Applause For This: Ferguson

My good friend Darnell…..I hope he stays safe.

writers are always confessing

IMG_0345

I woke up to a black face on white racism. Is «White racism» redundant? In the last two days I’ve talked too much about the military training offered to police officers via Call of Duty video games and higher ups who want them to see people of color as targets, not humans.

We conversed about the last time a white man didn’t use his gun as the first reaction, and I stood in front of a liquor store last night and listened as a protestor dismissed a man who called her actions «heroic.» She said «Be gone with that shit, man. We’re not here to be heroic, and your words aren’t necessary. We’re here because we need to be. We don’t seek these fancy titles you’re coming over here to offer us. Want to do something, go tell the media to cover this conversation instead of those looters.» He walked…

Ver la entrada original 44 palabras más

Deja un comentario